Twig: Population 189

The setting for my novel is a fictional town in Newfoundland. I made up Twig but you couldn’t make up other place names in Newfoundland – Conception Bay, Come By Chance, Joe Batt’s Arm, Foxtrap and Goobies to mention a few:

I chose the name Twig because it represented something small, dull and dead – mirroring the initial impressions of the town formed by my protagonist, the newly arrived Rachel O’Brien. Conversely a twig can also be a young shoot; a living, growing organism, reflecting Rachel’s changing views about the town as time passes.

Or at least that’s the pretentious literary-babble explanation I put in my MA dissertation. Mostly I chose the name Twig because it popped into my head and I liked it. I hope you will too.

10 thoughts on “Twig: Population 189

  1. Hi Downith … good to hear of the progress you’ve made with your novel. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. BTW – my husband and I are travelling to Newfoundland in late June early July – our first trip to the province. Should be fun!!

  2. Damhnait- so thrilled and cannot wait to read more ! Hope to be going ‘home’ to New-Fun-land on March break.
    Take care.

  3. Hi Downith…..This sounds like a fascinating background for a story and I will look forward to following the progress of the project with interest. Newfoundland appears to be such an enchanting place. By zeroing in on Twig we will understand why…

Tell me something good.

