Anne of Tim Hortons

The initial idea for Up She Rises came to me during my studies for a Masters in Creative & Critical Writing at Winchester University. Eventually, the first few chapters were submitted as my dissertation. It was a requirement that students include a critical analysis of their creative component and a friend suggested that I cite the reference book Anne of Tim Hortons.

The book wasn’t available in the UK at the time so I didn’t bother. But it’s the best damn title I’ve ever heard. It incorporates two of my (and Canada’s) most beloved icons: Anne of Green Gables  and Tim Horton’s donuts.

During my childhood, I worked my way through the entire Anne oeuvre simultaneously with Tim’s donut range. It doesn’t get much better than that.

When my protaganist Rachel O’Brien arrives in Twig, she has only the contents of two suitcases to help her survive the year. In one suitcase is her comfort read, a battered copy of Anne of Green Gables. Which leads me to the clip below.This is not quite how Rachel arrives in Twig, but it’s a fine example of the brilliant humour of CODCO, a Newfoundland comedy troupe popular in the 1980s.

What’s your comfort read? And why do I want a donut right now?

 

8 thoughts on “Anne of Tim Hortons

  1. I don’t remember Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Anne having such good kung fu skills, but if that inspired your Rachel, I look forward to reading about her!

    • LTF, you of all people will get Rachel’s sarcasm. And of course I mean that in a good way. Really looking forward to a catch up when I’m back in Toronto next month.

Tell me something good.

